Stay in touch

Metcalf Prizes: supporting promising researchers

Each year the Foundation awards two $50,000 Metcalf Prizes for Stem Cell Research to two up-and-coming scientists to boost their career to the next level.

The winners are selected by a jury of research leaders for their scientific excellence, proven leadership ability and the potential to have a continuing influence on stem cell research in Australia.

Past Metcalf Prize winners include:

  • Melbourne molecular biologist¬†Melanie Eckersley-Maslin
  • Brisbane clinical haematologist Steven Lane
  • Brisbane mammary stem cell researcher Felicity Davis
  • Brisbane bioengineer James Hudson
  • Newcastle leukaemia researcher Heather Lee
  • Melbourne heart development researcher Enzo Porrello
  • Melbourne haematologist Mark Dawson
  • Brisbane computational biologist Jessica Mar
  • Sydney heart clinician and researcher James Chong
  • Melbourne immunologist Tracy Heng
  • bioinformatician Christine Wells, who is now Deputy Program Leader of Stem Cells Australia
  • Perth geneticist Ryan Lister
  • Tasmanian neural stem cell researcher Kaylene Young
  • Monash University reprogramming legend Jose Polo.

The Metcalf Prizes for Stem Cell Research recognise and honour the exceptional contribution made to stem cell research by the late Professor Donald Metcalf. Over his 50-year career, Don helped transform cancer treatment and transplantation medicine, and paved the way for potential stem cell therapy in the treatment of many other conditions.